Tags: reviews (29)

Sort by: Date / Title / URL

  1. updated: 04-06-2017, original: 04-06-2017 to , , , , , , by mako
  2. Review of Pelevin by Ursula Leguin.
  3. updated: 14-09-2015, original: 14-09-2015 to , , , , , , , by mako
  4. This is pretty opaque, but I think it is really pretty great.
  5. Amazing review of an amazing film.
  6. updated: 07-02-2012, original: 07-02-2012 to , , , , , , by mako
  7. Unbelievable review of Pitchfork in n+1. I didn't even know what Pitchfork was before I read the article, I loved it. But I basically love everything that they do.
  8. Overview of a new book called "How To Fix Copyright" which sounds like something I could get behind.
  9. "When do states adopt the moral frames promoted by transnational advocacy organizations? Joshua W. Busby examines the success and failure of advocacy campaigns for debt relief, climate change, HIV/AIDS treatment, and membership in the International Criminal Court in the G7 countries to show that states adopt normative commitments based on key gatekeepers, and their perceptions of national interest. Moral Movements and Foreign Policy argues that material interests of states and of individual politicians are insufficient explanatory variables for making sense of foreign policy choices. Moral language, religious motivations, the desire to live up to a virtuous self-image all shape highly consequential foreign policy decisions that impact everything from foreign aid budgets to the voluntary ceding of state sovereignty over armed forces."
  10. Nice write-up of bikes useful for adventure touring with a good list of the kinds of specifications one might want.
  11. Ouch. This is a bad book review: "The empirical information he provides is perfunctory at best. His command of Marxism seems limited. His historical reach extends to his own earlier works. His vast theoretical apparatus is jimmy-rigged and empty. The graphs are inane, the writing atrocious. To call this book dull as dish water maligns dish water."
  12. 23-07-2010 to , , , by mako
  13. DUDE, I WROTE THE FIRST VERSION OF THIS PROGRAM IN A BAR!
  14. 04-02-2009 to , , , by mako
  15. Review of Zittrain's (Future of the Internet and How to Stop It) by Tim Wu.
  16. Awesome restaurant in Florence.
  17. A parody book review? A parody book?
  18. "If you ask me for really dangerous ideological films, for ideology at its purest, I’d say Kung Fu Panda. I saw it five times because my son likes it."
    14-09-2008 to , , , by mako

First / Previous / Next / Last / Page 1 of 1